Board of Directors

Board Member


Tim Olson joined the Kids Voting Board in 2019. Tim is a long-time Central Wisconsin educator and coach. He has worked with Kids Voting throughout his career and is passionate about getting students involved in the political process and teaching them about citizenship. He believes Kids Voting is a great avenue to introduce students to the election process and their role as citizens. Tim is currently in his 20th year of teaching at Wausau East and also serves as the Secretary for the Wisconsin Cross Country Coaches Association.

Board Member


Kathy Drury joined Kids Voting in 2018. She is dedicated to providing youth with education and opportunities to inspire them to become engaged voters. Kathy recently retired from the Department of Public instruction as an Education Specialist.

Executive Director


Sharon Hunter was a past Board Member, past-President and past-Secretary. Sharon joined Kids Voting in 2012. Sharon is passionate about helping youth realize their potential and become engaged citizens. Sharon retired from the Department of Public Instruction as a Regional Supervisor. She currently serves as a Supervisor for the Town of Wausau and volunteers at the Wisconsin Institute of Public Policy and Service as a program manager. Sharon may be reached at 715/212-1672 or [email protected].

Board Member


Kristine Kamrath has been a Board member since June 2017. She is a former Education Specialist with the Department of Public Instruction and a former high school teacher and university instructor. She is retired and focuses on volunteering.

Board Member and Past President


Kristen Lonergan is proud to serve on the Board of Kids Voting. She has been a member since June of 2012. Kristen is passionate about encouraging all members of our community to be informed, involved, citizens. Kristen works as an attorney at Crooks, Low & Connell, S.C. She also serves on the Board for the Marathon County Child Development Agency (HeadStart) and serves as a case worker for the State Bar of Wisconsin High School Mock Trial Program, among other things.

Board Member


Jim Kraft is a retired high school social studies teacher who also served on the Wisconsin Council for Social Studies Governing Board during much of his teaching career.  After retirement he served on the Wausau Taxpayer Board of Review and was a poll worker for a number of years.  Jim became a member of the Kids Voting Board in 2021.

Board Member


Board member Chad Thompson has been with Kids Vote since 2018. He has been a Social Studies teacher for twenty-six years, the last fifteen as the Advanced Placement and American Institution educator at DC Everest School District. His D.C. Everest’s commitment to shaping not only successful students in the classroom, but creating confident civic minded young people for the world beyond D.C. Everest, makes the idea of working with Kids Vote in this community very attractive. He is extremely grateful to be the current President of the Kids Vote Board; with the support of this group, because they understand and embrace student engagement in our classrooms, community and beyond.